My Endorsements on the Illinois Ballot

US Senate – Republican Mark Kirk is pro-choice who could be, at best, labeled a moderate.  I cannot endorse him.  He is going to lose any way.  He sealed his fate by mocking the family of his opponent in their debate.  On the other hand, Tammy Duckworth seems to be your average liberal who supports abortion on demand and federal funding for Planned Parenthood.  Nothing there for me to endorse.  That leaves me with Libertarian candidate Kent McMillen.  I have my reservations here, but he is pro-second amendment and will vote to shrink the size of government.  My major reservation is his view on abortion.  When I asked him about this he replied, “I believe in a woman’s right to choose, but I am not in favor of federal funding for abortion. I would not vote to fund organizations such as Planned Parenthood. I would like abortions to be safe, rare and privately funded and if a woman was considering the procedure, it would be my hope that she has a supporting network of family, friends, her doctor and her clergy (if applicable).”  So, while I cannot approve of his pro-choice stance, his view is better than the other candidates.  I will be voting for him, but not endorsing him.

Comptroller  – Leslie Munger seems to be the right way to go in this race.  She vows not to pay legislators until we have a budget.  It’s been way too long, perhaps this might nudge them in the right direction.  She also wants to reign in reckless spending and cut waste.  However, some people I respect suggest the Libertarian candidate Claire Bell would be well qualified for the job.  I think I’ll stick with the major party in this one.

General Assembly

68th District – John Cabello.  He’s a former police officer, pro-life and generally conservative.  He’s the clear choice in this race.  My only hesitation is that he is an early supporter of Donald Trump.

69th District – Joe Sosnowski.  He’s a pro-family conservative whose voice is needed in the midst of Springfield corruption.  He also has connections with Rockford Christian School.

20160816_164928

County Chairman – I am supporting Frank Haney.  Of all the races on my ballot, he’s the clearest choice for me.  Mr. Haney is a conservative who will bring integrity back to the chairmanship.  I’ve had the pleasure of meeting him on several different occasions.  He’s great guy who has strong family values and a faith that grounds him.  I really like him and can’t wait to cast my vote for him on Tuesday.

Coroner – I’ll be voting for Bill Hintz.  He’s had experience in this job and seems like he would be competent.  I like that he’s made himself available on social media, something other local candidates ought to be doing.  He writes, “My commitment to our communities is to continue to practice and promote dignified care to those who have passed on, and provide support to those families and friends who are left behind.  I truly believe that we are the last voice for those who have left us. It is my mission to work very diligently to continue to provide the answers needed to support the healing process for families and friends of loved ones that we have lost.  I truly enjoy my position as Chief Deputy Coroner. I am proud of the work that I have done to serve our communities.  During the past 18 years in the Coroner’s Office, I have embraced the challenges of the investigative piece of my responsibilities.”

Judicial Retention – I will most likely be voting to retain all three judges up for retention.  I’m doing this because I honestly do not know much about any of the judges.  My decision is based solely on this website – http://www.illinoisjudges.net/subhead_retention.htm#circuit17

Constitutional Amendment

“The proposed amendment adds a new section to the Revenue Article of the Illinois Constitution. The proposed amendment provides that no moneys derived from taxes, fees, excises, or license taxes, relating to registration, titles, operation, or use of vehicles or public highways, roads, streets, bridges, mass transit, intercity passenger rail, ports, or airports, or motor fuels, including bond proceeds, shall be expended for other than costs of administering laws related to vehicles and transportation, costs for construction, reconstruction, maintenance, repair, and betterment of public highways, roads, streets, bridges, mass transit, intercity passenger rail, ports, airports, or other forms of transportation, and other statutory highway purposes, including the State or local share to match federal aid highway funds. You are asked to decide whether the proposed amendment should become part of the Illinois Constitution.”

I will be voting yes on this amendment.  It makes sense to me and will ensure budgeted money will be used on budgeted items.  It will promote responsible spending in other areas as it takes away the temptation to use these funds as a piggy bank.

 

There are other races on the ballot other than the ones mentioned here, such as county board seats and forest preserve director.  However, I found little to no information on these races.  In the age of the internet, there is no excuse for this.  If you are not willing to at least throw together a free blog or Facebook group, you are not worthy of my support or attention.

Leave a Reply

