Frank Haney for Winnebago County Board Chairman

20160816_164928

Today at the Winnebago County Fair I ran into Frank Haney, the Republican candidate for county board chairman.  We had met once before a few months ago.  We chatted for just a few minutes then as he told me about his campaign.  I recall, at that time, thinking this was a bright man with some good ideas and certainly a likable fellow.  Well, that was a few months ago.

Fast-forward to today.  Chatting with him at the fair, he asked me my first name claiming he new we had met before.  I told him my name, and as we took this quick photo, I couldn’t help but think this was a typical politician.  I mean, asking me my first name would allow him to look like he knew me without actually knowing.  He was trying to make a connection with a voter.  Nothing wrong with that, but its what you would expect.  Of course I didn’t say any of this out loud.

Then, he shocked me by saying, “Oh yes, we met at a Rockford Reachout Jail Ministry event last year.  We’re also friends on Facebook.”  I have to admit, as a pretty unremarkable person, I’m always impressed when people remember who I am.  Well, I was impressed with Frank Haney today.  He strikes me as a man who loves his family and wishes to serve his community.  He’s got a positive vision for the future of our county and desires a local government accountable to the people and run with integrity.

So, anyway, I hope you’ll join me on November 8 and vote Frank Haney Winnebago County Board Chairman.  You can learn more about his campaign here – www.frankhaney.biz/

PS.  Frank, the kids liked your balloons.

20160816_173329

Leave a Reply

