Podcast – Five Thoughts Concerning the Josh Duggar Situation

DuggarGuest – None, Just me this week.

Description – It is with great fear and trembling I approach this topic ripped from today’s headlines.  The Duggar family of TLC’s 19 Kids and Counting is beloved by many in the evangelical community.  To our great shock disappointment is revealed that the oldest sibling, Josh, had molested some of his sisters and other underage girls when he was 14.  TLC has pulled reruns of the show and Josh has stepped down from his position at the Family Research Council.  Since then a number of Christians have wondered why this is even an issue for us since it seems as though Josh has repented, got saved and has been forgiven.  While I do not claim any inside information concerning this situation, in this special episode I speak from my heart and share five quick thoughts (which are elaborated on in the podcast):

  1. This happens in “good” Christian homes.
  2. Sexual sin is not merely a bad mistake.
  3. This sin will have lasting results so we can’t simply move on.
  4. Forgiveness does not mean there will no longer be any consequences.
  5. We must foster an atmosphere that allows victims to come forward and receive help.

There is much more to be said on this issue.  It’s not my desire to join the echo chamber of blogs and podcasts all saying the same thing, but I need to speak.  There have been many others who have written and spoken on this with much more wisdom and clarity than I, but I just felt compelled to say something hoping that it might help someone or spark a larger conversation within my small sphere of influence.

Stream it here.

Download it here.

Articles referenced on this week’s podcast:

Duggar Family Statements
What Should the Duggar Scandal Teach the Church?
The Duggar Disaster
Jarred Wilson Facebook Status

One thought on “Podcast – Five Thoughts Concerning the Josh Duggar Situation

  1. I tried to leave a comment but hit the backspace key and think I went back a page instead of going back a character. Hopefully you don’t get two messages from me. I found your podcast after doing a search for “Duggar” in Stitcher as I wanted to hear perspectives from other people about the Duggar case. I saw this particular episode listed and thought it was going to consist of someone defending and minimizing all of Josh’s actions since your show has a religious theme to it. I’ve been an atheist (well, part agnostic) since childhood, and I get frustrated sometimes when I hear religious folks defending perpetrators of sexual abuse whenever those perpetrators follow the same religion. I was expecting your show to do the same thing. Although I don’t agree with everything you said since I’m an atheist, I did agree completely with your comments about victims of sexual abuse needing to get professional help, and that prayer isn’t enough to get people through crimes such as molestation. Hopefully regular listeners of your show will keep that advice in mind if its ever needed. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

