Music Review – Hymn Revival by Gold City

I will always have an affinity in my heart toward Southern Gospel music!  I love the blended harmony of a gospel quartet.  There are few things that can get this conservative, straight-laced Baptist’s toe to tap than an ole’ fashioned gospel tune.

This week I was excited to learn one of my favorite gospel groups, Gold City, was releasing a new album.  What made me even more excited was the revelation that this album would be a hymn collection.  So, let me share with you a few thoughts on Gold City’s latest album (out today!) – Hymn Revival.

This is just classic gospel at its best.  The harmony, the beat, the down-home feel – it’s all there.  The fact that these are all familiar hymns (old and new) make it an easy cd to sing along with.  I first listened to the album in the car with my family.  From the very first song, (“Nothing but the Blood”), my two year old began dancing in the seat.  It’s just that good.  The harmony in “He Hideth My Soul” is just awesome.  “Victory in Jesus” was my favorite hymn growing up and Gold City did not disappoint me in this rendition.

I really appreciate the fact that two newer hymns were included, “Power of the Cross” and “In Christ Alone.”  “In Christ Alone” is clearly my favorite song on this cd.  It’s a powerful song sung in such way that might have you on your feet or in tears by the time it’s over.

My only criticism would be the remake of “Farther Along.”  That is one of my favorite gospel songs and I was disappointed with this version of it.  You can’t sing along with it and there’s no great harmony to be heard.

But, don’t let that one minor issue stop you from purchasing this album.  If you are a Southern Gospel fan, go out and get your copy today.  I would lend you mind, but I have a feeling it will be in my car CD player for a little while to come…

Click here to purchase this album from Family Christian Stores.

The album was given to me by Family Christian Stores for the purpose of a fair and honest review.  I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.

Leave a Reply

