Book Review – Titus for You by Tim Chester

Title: Titus For You
Author: Tim Chester
Publisher: The Good Book Company
Publishing Year: 2014
Pages: 199
My Rating: 5 out of 5 (1 meaning I hated the book, 5 meaning I loved the book)

I have to say, I am thoroughly enjoying this “For You” commentary series from the Good Book Company.  Each volume is meant to be understood by the average person in the pew and is simply drenched in the gospel.  I cannot recommend this series enough.  So, even though I have been extremely busy this summer with seminary classes, church work and foster parenting (which, by the way, is why this review is so incredibly late), I did not want to pass up the chance to review the latest commentary, Titus for You by Tim Chester.

This book certainly did not disappoint.  Chester writes in a clear to understand, devotional manner.  He is both clear and concise.  Normally I find writers from the UK have a hard time connecting with an American layman audience, but that is not the case here.  The book is divided up into seven bit-sized chapters, each ending with a set of questions to help you reflect upon the material just covered.  It really is an easy read, but a read that leaves you contemplating the great things of God.

As I mentioned before, this book is drenched in the gospel.  There is a clear focus upon Christ, while not ignoring potentially divisive issues.  I greatly appreciated the clear Calvinistic perspective Chester takes in chapters one and two.

In short, this is a great book that should be found on your bookshelf.

You can purchase the book here.

Disclaimer: This book was provided by the publisher for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.

Leave a Reply

