Mother’s Day is a sentimental holiday, but Sunday is the Lord’s Day for ALL of God’s people

The following paragraph was taken from a post my pastor recently placed on his blog.

Having been married to an infertile woman for ten years, I know that Mother’s Day was an especially difficult day and I began to dislike the fact that churches totally ignored the pain of the barren woman on that day. I started realizing that Mother’s Day is a sentimental holiday, but Sunday is the Lord’s Day for ALL of God’s people. Mother’s Day is often difficult for single women also, knowing that they will probably never have a chance to be a mother. Having been in ministry for twenty years I have witnessed how Mother’s Day also conjures up bad memories of bad mothers for many dear Christian people or how it becomes an especially painful time for people who have lost their mother recently. In fact, last year my cousin took his seven children from ages 14 down to 3 to the graveside of their mother on Mother’s Day, the first Mother’s Day since she’s had gone to heaven. Interestingly enough, we have found over the years that some women get offended if we do not hand out flowers or make a big deal on Mother’s Day so I thought that it would be a good thing to remind our core people (the ones that actually read this letter!) that we are thoughtful about the day and believe that we are most Christlike if we make Sunday primarily about the Lord and His Church where no one feels disenfranchised or inadequate or unloved.

Check out the entire post here.

As a child who grew up without a mother, Mother’s Day has was always the most awkward days to go to church.  My mother died when I was very young so she was not apart of my life very long.  In fact, the only day when her death really effected me was Mother’s Day.  On those days, I really did not want to go to church.  It was a reminder of something I never really had.  It was a depressing day made worse by God’s well-intentioned people.

Now that I’m married without children, this day continues to have its challenges.  My wife and both strongly desire to have children, and this is just one more reminder of our failure in this area.  Just one more reminder that something seems to be missing…  Not only is it a reminder, but its a harsh in-your-face reminder.

It’s a difficult day, but I am thankful for God’s abundant grace.  Sure, there might be a few tears shed today in the Thompson household, but that won’t prevent Jill and I from joining the rest of our local body for worship.  I praise the Lord for Morning Star Church and its desire to be a house of worship for all of God’s people.  We feel welcome there, even on this day.  Why?  Because what we need most today is not merely sympathy and encouragement (though we know we can find it there), but we need to be reminded of the glory of God.  We need to bask in God’s grace.  We need a big God.  Today we will see that at Morning Star Church.

Leave a Reply

