Political Endorsement: Bobby Schilling and Chad Lee for Congress

Continuing on in my political endorsements tonight, there are two Congressional candidates I wanted to highlight:  Bobby Schilling and Chad Lee.

Congressman Bobby Schilling

When I moved to Rockford earlier this year I was a little sad that I would not be able to vote for some of the great candidates that Rock County, WI had to offer.  All I knew about Illinois politics was corruption, Blago and Barack Obama.  Oh, and did I mention corruption?  And then someone invited me to a Bobby Schilling campaign event.  My first question to him was deliberate – “What is your view on abortion?”  His first response was to tell me of his 10 children.  If that doesn’t say pro-life and family values, I don’t know what does!  The more I spoke with him, the more I liked the guy.  He was humble, straight-forward and willing to talk to a guy like me.  It has been an honor to volunteer for his campaign during the summer.  It really was a family atmosphere.  Even talking with some of his children, you just get the idea that this is the real deal, well, as far as politicians go anyway…  As a dedicated father and husband, he know the struggles families face.  As a small business owner, he has an idea of what it takes to help our slow economy.  He’s not perfect, but he’s a great choice.   So, if you live in Illinois 17th Congressional district, I would urge you to cast your vote for Bobby Schilling.

It’s no secret that I did not endorse Chad Lee when he ran for this congressional seat back in 2010.  While he was no doubt a likable guy and a much better

Chad Lee

representative of my views than Tammy Baldwin, I just didn’t like what I saw coming out of his campaign.  However, I am very happy to report this is not the case this time around.  He learned the lessons from his rookie mistakes and has run a much better campaign.  His campaign is much more professional and detailed.  It is a campaign based on ideas and substance.  What has not changed is Chad’s personal demeanor.  While he is clearly looking for your vote, he does so in a way that makes one think he actually cares about what you are talking about.  I believe this is not just being folksy, but  genuine.  Of course what I like about Chad most his is his commitment to his faith.  It has been my privilege to sit down with him one-on-one and discuss his faith in Christ in-depth.  It didn’t take long to discover we were two Christian brothers in love with the Father.   He is decidedly pro-life and stands where I would stand on most issues.  So, if you live in Wisconsin’s second Congressional district, I would urge you to vote for Chad Lee.

Leave a Reply

