This and That 07-07-12

God is Judging You – I was flat on my face, stripped of everything that I thought created happiness, sinking- drowning.  I didn’t think I would make it. I didn’t want to make it. I sunk so low that I hit rock bottom and kept falling.  And yet what was said with fingers pointed at me by some fellow believers?  “God is judging her.”   While they turned to the side and said loud thankfulness for their own PERFECT children.  I’m sorry but that’s the biggest piece of bull I’ve ever heard. When I think of it today it makes me angry.  How is it that someone claiming to be a believer can look at a perfectly created gift of a baby and call her JUDGMENT  So you think that my little girl is some horrible disease sent to punish me because I wasn’t doing everything right? “Did your parents feel that way because you were born without a heart?” Was my first ungracious thought.  How can you look me in the eye and tell me that God doesn’t have a perfect plan for my children? You’re telling me that something totally beyond my control was deliberately set to “MISTAKE” mode to punish me? Your view of God is that he added a chromosome to my daughter’s body to show me how wrong I was to not dress your way, attend as many church services as you, DO, do, do as much at church?  At the time I didn’t know better than to accept YOUR judgment of me with bowed head and tears.  Today?  I stand tall and proud and tell you that what you said was judgement was the greatest blessing God has ever sent me. What you felt was being sent to ruin me saved me. What you saw as the greatest blight of unhappiness was actually the greatest source of happiness I have ever received. What you snubbed and avoided me for actually gave me the strength to realize how wrong you were to view my unborn child that way.  – Deanna J Smith

Defending the Faith Requires Definitions – Indeed nothing makes a man more unpopular in the controversies of the present day than an insistence upon definitions of terms. Men discourse eloquently today upon such subjects as God, religion, Christianity, atonement, redemption, and faith, but they are greatly incensed when they are asked to tell in simple language what they mean by these terms. You speak of Christ? What Christ? You speak of atonement? What atonement? What is the nature of the atonement? Faith? What kind of faith? What is the nature of the faith you speak of? – J. Gresham Machen

Leave a Reply

