Who Should I Vote for in the GOP Presidential Primary?

Believe it or not, I am still undecided concerning who I will vote for in the GOP Presidential race.  I hate being undecided because everybody keeps asking me for my thoughts.  But, I have narrowed it down to two candidates.

First, there’s Ron Paul.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I LOVE RON PAUL!!!  But, let’s be real – he won’t be the nominee.  While his views probably most reflect my own, I still have some serious concerns.  Of course I’m talking about foreign policy.  I’m all for non-interventionism.  However, as must as I would love to live in an ideal world, I do live in a world where Iran is moving closer and closer to gaining nuclear capacity.  In that world, I just don’t trust Ron Paul to protect me.  My other concern about Paul is his extremist associations.  The racism and homophobia found in those infamous newsletters I think are only the tip of the iceberg.  Ron Paul Supporters run the gamut now-a-days.  His common-sense, Constitutional message is finally getting mainstream acknowledgement.  However, that has not always been the case.  To get the Libertarian nomination for President and other Third Parties begging you to take theirs, you’ve got to make some pretty extreme friends and say some pretty extreme things.  Should Paul get the nomination, I believe you will see a whole lot of ugly things come out.  Also, keep in mind, Congressman Paul has never said these racist comments were wrong…

On the other hand, Ron Paul is breath of fresh air.  By far, he is the most consistent candidate ever to run for this office.  He means what he says.  You’re not going to be able to find double talk or flip-flopping with this man.  He simply stands for the Constitution.  He’s not a party shill who will be pressured into going along with the talking points from HQ.  He’s the only candidate serious about returning back to the dream of our Founding Fathers.

Then there’s Rick Santorum.  I’ve got some serious  reservations about this guy.  When I look at Senator Santorum I see George W. Bush –  a big spending Conservative who will explode the deficit and lead us into war.  Like Ron Paul, but in the opposite way, I fear Santorum’s foreign policy.  He is way too hawkish for my taste.  Of course, the phrase, “Even though it was against my principles, sometimes you have to take one for the team” keeps ringing in my head.

However, Santorum is right on concerning the issues I care about most.  Santorum’s stance on life is impeccable.  As a social conservative, there are  few people in Santorum’s league.  The pro-life movement would have no greater ally in the Oval Office than Rick Santorum.  He would be a champion of religious liberty.  Yet, there’s one more thing I cannot ignore about Santorum.  Rick Santorum is our best shot at keeping Romney away from the nomination.  If it came down to Romney v. Santorum – I’ll go Santorum every time and twice on Sunday.

Ok, so there’s my dilemma.  Who would you vote for (between these two) and why?

(And for those of you who were wondering, yes – the purpose of this post was mostly to show off my pictures with the candidates)

Leave a Reply

