New Book to Review – Four Views on the Spectrum of Evangelicalism

Today, I walked down the driveway and to my great delight I found that the wonderful people over at Zondervan has sent me a new book to review.  Now, I must admit, I am increadibly excited to read this book in particular.  Here is the product description on amazon.com:

Four Views on the Spectrum of Evangelicalism compares and contrasts four distinct positions on the current fundamentalist-evangelical spectrum in light of the history of American fundamentalism and evangelicalism.  The contributors each state their case for one of four views on the spectrum of
evangelicalism: -Kevin T. Bauder: Fundamentalism -R. Albert Mohler Jr.:   Conservative/confessional evangelicalism -John G. Stackhouse Jr.:   Generic evangelicalism -Roger E. Olson: Postconservative evangelicalism.  Each author explains his position, which is critiqued by the other three authors. The interactive and fair-minded nature of the Counterpoints format allows the reader to consider the strengths and weaknesses of each view and draw informed, personal conclusions. The Counterpoints series provides a forum for comparison and critique of different views on issues important to Christians. Counterpoints books address two categories: Church Life and Bible and Theology. Complete your library with other books in the Counterpoints series.
As an conservative evangelical who recently left fundamentalism, I can’t help but get exicted about any work that contains contributions from both Al Mohler and Kevin Bauder.  As soon as I have the book read I’ll post my review here.  So, better check this blog every few hours several times a day till then…. (I can use the hits)
Leave a Reply

