Book Review – Ron Paul: A Life of Ideas

Title: Ron Paul:  Man of Ideas
Author: Brian Bagnall
Publisher: Variant Press
Publishing Year: 2008
Pages: 253
My Rating: 3 out of 5 (1 meaning I hated the book, 5 meaning I loved the book)

Its no secret to anyone that I simply fascinated by any and all things Ron Paul.  While I am still not sure who I will support in the GOP race this year, I would have no problem casting my vote for Ron Paul in a general election.  I was a Ron Paul precinct captain in 2008 and don’t regret a moment of it. It would be a HUGE step forward for the Republican Party if Dr. Paul were to get the nod.  With a unique mixture of Christian values and libertarian principles, it’s hard not to support him.  That is, until he starts talking about Iran…

You can imagine my joy when one day at the dollar store I come across this biography of Congressman Paul.  Of course, I bought it immediately and read it quickly.  This short paperback was a very interesting read.  You are not merely reading the story of one man’s life, but a history of political thought and change through the past sixty years.   If you are a Ron Paul fan like me, you need buy this book.  It’s short and inexpensive.

However, you get what you pay for…  The book’s strength is also its weakness.  The strength is what I mentioned above, this biography is a civics lesson in disguise.  While the lessons learned are valuable, they are also dry.  Its gets somewhat boring at times as you drag yourself through the Austrian school of economic thought.  I was also irritate that just as I would get into the actual life of Paul I would be led down a contrived, libertarian rabbit-trail that diverts from the real story at hand – the life of Ron Paul.  Also, as is the case with many biographies, this book tends to exaggerate the influence, moral character and greatness of its subject.

If you are looking for an in-depth biography of what makes Ron Paul Ron Paul, this book will get you started, and wanting more.  But, you can’t beat the price.  You get far more than you pay for, by far…

Purchase the book for only $3 at amazon.

Leave a Reply

