Paul Ryan is Not Running for President and That’s Ok

Congressman Paul Ryan has declared that despite the huge public outcry, he will not be running for President in 2012.  Here is his official statement released yesterday:

“I sincerely appreciate the support from those eager to chart a brighter future for the next generation. While humbled by the encouragement, I have not changed my mind, and therefore I am not seeking our party’s nomination for President. I remain hopeful that our party will nominate a candidate committed to a pro-growth agenda of reform that restores the promise and prosperity of our exceptional nation. I remain grateful to those I serve in Southern Wisconsin for the unique opportunity to advance this effort in Congress.”

So, now let the weeping begin.  Congressman Ryan was our last hope at a credible candidate who could bring back economic sanity.  So now let us weep and mourn and dive deep into the well of sorrow.  Or, as Christians, we could rely on the sovereignty of God, continue serving Him with gladness and remember that we are first of all citizens of heavenly city…  In other words, lets not get frantic.

Remember, I firmly believe Christians ought to play an important role in their government.  Everyone who knows me can testify of my intense interest in politics.  However, we must strive to keep the main thing the main thing.  If President Obama is re-elected (and I will be working to see that he does not), I will still go to church the next Sunday, praise the Lord for His greatness and continue to serve my fellow-man.  My trust is not in our government, but our God. 

In 2008, we conservatives mocked liberals for acting as though Barack Obama was their messiah.  We should not be guilty of making a similar mistake.

Leave a Reply

