Archive

Archive for May 10, 2012

My Final “Gleanings in Grace” Column for the School Year

This week marks the final Word on the Street publication for the 2011-2012 school year.  For those of you who don’t recall, the Word on the Street is the offical student newspaper at Rock County Christian School.  So, here are my last 200 word column (“Gleanings in Grace”) till September:

Colossians 2:14 is one of my favorite verses. “…by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross.”

First we see a “record of debt.” I am a sinner. But, that’s easy to admit. What is troubling here is that there is a record. A record suggests that there is an account of all my sins. There’s a specific list of my many sins. This record screams my guilt with no excuses. This exposes me for who I really am. It’s easy to admit I’m a sinner, just like everyone else, but it is embarrassing to know there is One who knows all of my sins in particular.

But, second, there is the good news. This entire record of debt has been erased! It was nailed to the Cross of Calvary. Just like Pilgrim before the cross, my burdens have rolled away! I am not saved because God suddenly realized I’m a great guy. No, that record says otherwise. I am saved because of the death of Jesus. His work cancels my debt. He paid the price I refused to pay!

His grace truly is amazing!

Categories: Gleanings in Grace
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers