Home > Uncategorized > Obama’s Faith and the Beam in Our Own Eye

Obama’s Faith and the Beam in Our Own Eye

Did you hear that the President is really a Muslim?  No, really – he is!  Glenn Beck told me so  or maybe it was Rush Limbaugh or Sean Hannity?  Or could it have been Rick Santorum?  Wait, perhaps it was some other tea party celebrity or even one of those evangelical talking heads that appear to speak for all evangelicals when they appear on the Sunday news programs…  But, whatever the source, it must be true because so many people believe it…

Wait, I know the President says he is a Christian.  He even claims to pray regularly.  However, didn’t he go to that really radical church with that crazy pastor who wanted God to condemn America – that’s even if he actually attended church at all.  He’s a pro-choice, liberal democrat who spent his days reading Sal Alinsky while walking the streets of the inner city supposedly engaged in community organizing – whatever that means.  He’s not even a moderate Republican.  The guy just can’t be a true believer.

Oh yes, the liberals really hate it when we say things like that, don’t they!  Folks in our postmodern world think words and labels only mean what they want them to mean.  So, they don’t like it when we Conservative Evangelicals have the audacity to state that when you say you are a Christian, that actually means something!  You just can’t be something merely by calling yourself something.  Words have meanings!  People get all upset when we dare question the President’s faith.  The mainstream (or lame-stream media as I like to call them) can’t stand it when real Christians begin to stand up for their beliefs and even suggest that in order to be a Christian you have to believe and act like a Christian!

What’s that? Well, of course I’m a Christian!  Yes, it’s true that I don’t really attend church all that regularly, but you just don’t know my work schedule.  The Bible?  I’ve got one somewhere around here…  I love it with all my heart.  No, I can’t remember the last time I read it…  What about my lifestyle?  Listen, buddy, you can’t judge me!  The Bible says that you can’t judge.  “Judge not!” it says.  Where does it say that?  I don’t know.  It’s in there somewhere!  I’ve heard it before.  You have no right to be questioning my faith like that…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Ren
    February 21, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    “The mainstream (or lame-stream media as I like to call them) can’t stand it when real Christians begin to stand up for their beliefs and even suggest that in order to be a Christian you have to believe and act like a Christian!”

    On the other hand, some groups of particularly conservative Christians can’t stand it when everyone doesn’t agree with them on what beliefs are necessary and what “acting like a Christian” means. Just saying.

  2. February 21, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Ren, you caught the sarcasm in all this, right?

  3. Ren
    February 22, 2012 at 9:36 am

    I did until the last paragraph. Sadly, the last paragraph was too much exactly the type of sarcasm that a lot of religious, conservative Christians I run into use to mock people who disagree with them (like “Sure you think that guy’s a Christian, but how many souls have you won recently, hm? hm?” kind of thing), so then that made me re-evaluate my take on the rest of the post.

  4. February 22, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    The point I was trying (apparently unsuccessfully) to make was that those who are challenging Obama’s faith are applying a standard that they themselves are not keeping.

  5. Ren
    February 24, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I think you Poe’d it up. hahahaha. That might mean you were successful! :-D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

