Home > Uncategorized > A Gospel for Losers of Whom I am Chief

A Gospel for Losers of Whom I am Chief

Here is my latest column for the Word on the Street – the official Rock County Christian School newspaper.  This is the special Thompsonian Times blog edition.  My printed column is limited to 200 words, which I found especially difficult this month.  So, for my faithful blog readers, you get the full way-over-200-word edition!

Have you ever just felt like you match up to those around you?  I have, many times.

My three best friends in high school often left me feeling inferior.  They were good friends and they never meant to make me feel this way, but I never quite measured up to where they were at.  They were extremely intelligent; I was barely passing Algebra.  When we sang in chapel, their voices blended together in part harmony while I bellowed out sounds that resembled something like the cry of a wounded dog.  They were popular and well liked; I was literally laughed at once when I asked a girl out to our Christmas banquet.

Even still today I feel inadequate at times.  Every week at church I listen to sermons from my pastor that I struggle to understand even though I have a Bible college degree!  We have some great guys in our church who are smarter than me, better workers than me and for more younger than me…  Its embarrassing sometimes.

However, because of all my many shortcomings, I do have one advantage.  All of this allows me to have a deeper appreciation of the gospel of Jesus.  The message of the gospel is that I am nothing, but Christ is everything.  That’s great news for a guy like me. I can be nothing, no problem!  Often the gospel is hindered by prideful men with egos and accomplishments that hide their sin and nothingness.

Instead of running away from my inadequacies, I chose to embrace them in the warm glow of the cross for they lead me to greater trust and greater dependence upon Jesus.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me – II Corinthians 12:9

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

