Archive

Archive for October 31, 2011

New Book to Review – Four Views on the Spectrum of Evangelicalism

October 31, 2011 Leave a comment

Today, I walked down the driveway and to my great delight I found that the wonderful people over at Zondervan has sent me a new book to review.  Now, I must admit, I am increadibly excited to read this book in particular.  Here is the product description on amazon.com:

Four Views on the Spectrum of Evangelicalism compares and contrasts four distinct positions on the current fundamentalist-evangelical spectrum in light of the history of American fundamentalism and evangelicalism.  The contributors each state their case for one of four views on the spectrum of
evangelicalism: -Kevin T. Bauder: Fundamentalism -R. Albert Mohler Jr.:   Conservative/confessional evangelicalism -John G. Stackhouse Jr.:   Generic evangelicalism -Roger E. Olson: Postconservative evangelicalism.  Each author explains his position, which is critiqued by the other three authors. The interactive and fair-minded nature of the Counterpoints format allows the reader to consider the strengths and weaknesses of each view and draw informed, personal conclusions. The Counterpoints series provides a forum for comparison and critique of different views on issues important to Christians. Counterpoints books address two categories: Church Life and Bible and Theology. Complete your library with other books in the Counterpoints series.
As an conservative evangelical who recently left fundamentalism, I can’t help but get exicted about any work that contains contributions from both Al Mohler and Kevin Bauder.  As soon as I have the book read I’ll post my review here.  So, better check this blog every few hours several times a day till then…. (I can use the hits)

Quick Political Thoughts

October 31, 2011 2 comments

It seems like liberals. moderates and the main stream media is doing everything in its power to admonish Republicans to accept the Mormon faith of Mitt Romney.  In fact, it is bigoted not to call Mormons Christian.  However, does anyone remember just a few years ago these same groups were calling Mormons religious fanatics for their vocal opposition to homosexual marriage in California?

Herman Cain announced that he will be lightening his campaign load.  Why?  Because he has been flip-flopping all over the place and mis-speaking.  His excuse has been that he is tired and over-scheduled.  Well, Mr. Cain, if you can’t handle the campaign trail, what would you do if you actually got the job?  Maybe take a deep breath borrow one of Mark Block’s cigarettes…

After hearing Paul Ryan speak this past week, I’m certian this man should be President.  Should he ever run, he has my support.

I’m still not 100% sure who to support in the Wisconsin Senate race, but I think .  Tommy Thompson is not an option in my mind.  Jeff Fitzgerald seems like a guy I could get behind, but I’m not sure anyone with the name Fitzgerald can win a general election at this point.  That basically leaves Mark Neumann.  I didn’t vote for him for governor, but since then the guy is looking pretty good to me.  If I ha to vote now, he would get my support.  But, I still be convinced to go in another direction.  Any thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers