Archive

Archive for September 14, 2011

A Good Reminder from Kevin DeYoung

September 14, 2011 Leave a comment

Everyone knows I love politics.  As I’ve always said, I keep up with politics like most men keep up with sports.  Election night is my Super Bowl.  But, I also hope everyone knows – I do not believe all of our hope is in the political system.  My hope is only in the Lord, not the next conservative candidate. 

This morning, Kevin DeYoung posted a great blog piece entitled, “A Friendly Reminder as the Campaign Season Gets Into Full Swing.”  I would encourage you to check it out.  Here’s just a few good thoughts:

We should not expect the President to be the panacea for the nation. We should not expect that most of life’s troubles will be solved with the right electoral outcome.

As I’ve said before, I believe politics is important. I believe it’s important to have Christians in politics. I believe some political ideologies, ideas, programs, and policies are better than others–better for the common good and better in God’s eyes. But let’s remember that presidents are not omniscient, omnipotent, omnipresent, or omnicompetent.

We all got upset in 2008 over the almost worship of the Democratic candidate, Barack Obama.   Sean Hannity still mockingly refers to him as the “messiah.”  But let’s be honest, we’ve been guilty of the same thing at times.  Ronald Reagan is almost worshipped by some in the GOP.  Many Ron Paul supporters are border-line cult followers.  We have to keep things in thier ultimate perspective.

“The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the LORD;he turns it wherever he will.” – Proverbs 21:1

“And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place, that they should seek God, in the hope that they might feel their way toward him and find him.” – Acts 17:26-27

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers