Archive

Archive for August 14, 2009

Charles Spurgeon was Not King James Only

Every fundamentalist I know has a high regard for Charles Spurgeon.  Of course, if he were alive today, many fundamentalists would label him as a compromiser or even a heretic.  He would be treated like John MacArthur is today, loved by some and abhored by others. 

This morning I found a link on Sharper Iron to a piece written by Phil Johnson at the Pyromaniac blog.  The blog contained this quote from Spurgeon concerning the KJV:

Concerning the fact of difference between the Revised and Authorised Versions, I would say that no Baptist should ever fear any honest attempt to produce the correct text, and an accurate interpretation of the Old and New Testaments. For many years Baptists have insisted upon it that we ought to have the Word of God translated in the best possible manner . . .. By the best and most honest scholarship that can be found we desire that the common version [KJV] may be purged of every blunder of transcribers, or addition of human ignorance, or human knowledge, so that the Word of God may come to us as it came from His own hand.   Read the whole article here – http://teampyro.blogspot.com/2009/08/was-spurgeon-kjvo.html

While some of my fellow fundamentalists have separated from me because I read the ESV and espouse calvinist views, I am more than happy to align myself with the like of Charles Spurgeon.  By the way, I’ll be happily associated with John MacArthur as well.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers